The Best Vegan Fast Food Restaurant Options

by Alena
vegan fast food restaurant pin

What are the best vegan fast food restaurant options? How to get plant-based food outside of home and what to look out for? Find out more in this helpful guide.

More and more people turn to plant-based diets and vegan fast food is more ubiquitous than ever. Long over are the times where vegans had to pick the boring salad or french fries when they went out for lunch!

Especially when for those who are in the process of transitioning to a vegan diet and live with non-vegan family, it’s so helpful to know that following a vegan diet outside of their home is easier than ever.

Even though many articles on our website are about following a whole food plant-based diet, this doesn’t mean that you cannot have some vegan fast food when you feel like it!

Nutriciously Transition Course iPad

join our free vegan course!

Learn how to thrive on a plant-based diet with practical tips & a 3-day meal plan!

Especially for vegans in college or vegans on a budget, having plant-based options available can be such a relief. Plus, it’s great if you’re traveling, in a hurry or just want to treat yourself to some familiar favorites!

For more tips, check out our favorite plant-based snacks to buy at the store and vegan snack boxes for even more treats. If you’re struggling with eating too much unhealthy food, find 12 tips to stop craving junk food here.

top view of a white table with some vegan BBQ sauce, baked sweet potato fries and two homemade stuffed vegan burgers on some parchment paperpin it

Can Vegans Eat Fast Food?

Eating healthy and being a vegan are 2 different things and don’t always go hand in hand. Some vegans want to eat with as few restrictions as possible and don’t necessarily say “no” to fries just because the place sells cheeseburgers as well.

So, grabbing some vegan fast food is a huge convenience and honestly, it’s better for everyone on this planet to choose vegan junk foods instead of their animal-laden counterparts.

Especially for those who want to switch from the Standard Western to a plant-based diet, it can be a far stretch.

Although everyone should eat a diet primarily based on whole plant foods, and picking up a banana or an apple at a grocery store or gas station would be an option as well, most of us don’t live in NYC or LA where we can go to all-vegan restaurants for a junk food fix.

What to Look Out For

Obviously, it’s always best to opt for foods that are not fried and get a sandwich instead. But you need to be aware of the fact that they are handling animal foods there as well and it’s always possible that they use the same spoon, knife, broiler or pan for both the meaty and the vegan version of a food.

Some places use the same cooking grease for fries and chicken but the ones you’ll find in this article usually do not. Be aware that recipes can always change (largely depending on the state and country too) so make sure to double-check or ask specifically if the food is vegan.

This does not only make sure that your food is very likely 100% vegan but also shows that more and more people request vegan food so that ultimately, the companies start adding these to their menus.

Closeup of male chef with tattoos arranging green vegetables on a platepin it

It’s worth trying to change the big businesses instead of boycotting them completely and just stop buying there when you’re a vegan… it won’t hurt them too much.

Some might argue that a few of the following companies have an unethical philosophy and since most vegans are not promoters of hate or anti-gay movements, it’s wise to consider the beliefs behind an organization before you put your money out there.

But maybe you want to show your friends how convenient and tasty it can be to eat vegan food and they are more likely to eat something at their favorite food place – a possible way of introducing veganism and opening some doors.

Lastly, when looking for vegan-friendly food, it is always important to do research and beware of cross-contamination and hidden animal-based ingredients. Based on their information publicly available, all of these following restaurants provide substantial, plant-based food that will help you stay true to your vegan beliefs even in the face of inescapable cravings or tight situations.

Vegan Options at Restaurants

We focused on the following 30 popular companies or places that either have the largest amount of branches or the best vegan options. Since it’s a fast-paced world and (fortunately!) new vegan items are added every other week, we don’t claim this list is in any way complete.

Au Bon Pain

Au bon pain logo on beige background

You can get several soups here, including Tuscan White Bean, Black Bean, as well as Curried Rice and Lentil, 12 Veggie, Barley and Creamy Lentil, Harvest Mushroom and Wheatberries, Swiss Chard and Three Bean, and French Moroccan Tomato Lentil. Their vegetarian chili is also vegan.

Your bread choices are artisan baguette, sundried tomato bread, bread bowl, caraway rye flatbread, country white bread, focaccia, lavash, and the whole wheat bread. Possible condiments are Dijon mustard, guacamole, roasted red pepper hummus, and roasted red peppers.

And if you happen to want some coffee, you can get the Americano, iced decaf French roast, iced French roast, and iced French vanilla coffee.

Burger King

Burger King logo on beige background

There’s not much to eat here for vegans. Their Morningstar Veggie Burger has both milk and eggs, their oatmeal contains dairy. But their French Fries, other than McDonald’s, are vegan – be aware that the frier might be shared with other animal-based foods though.

Their buns and wraps are almost always vegan and can be filled with veggies only. Rumor has it that there’s a “Veggie Whopper” that isn’t on the menu but known by the employees: all veggies on a bun. Also, the French toast sticks, hash browns, and dutch apple pie are supposed to be without any animal products.


Chick Fil A logo on beige background

If you’re looking for something more junky and fried, go get some waffle fries here – and there are Hash Browns too. Healthier options include a bun or flaxseed tortilla filled with veggies and toppings like black bean relish, broccoli florets, or charred tomato crispy bell peppers, or a cool wrap without the meat, cheese, and dressing.

If you’re up for something fresh, try their market salad without the chicken and cheese or the Asian salad without chicken or almonds.

There’s also a cobb salad where you need to hold the chicken, bacon, eggs, and cheese. Salad add-ons include black bean relish, broccoli florets, fresh strawberry slices, grape tomatoes, carrots, mandarin orange segments, grapes, apple pieces, romaine, and iceberg lettuce.

As far as dressings go, you can choose between their zesty apple cider vinaigrette, Polynesian sauce, light Italian, and reduced-fat berry balsamic dressing. They do also serve a fresh Fruit Cup and Cinnamon Apple Sauce on the kid’s menu.


Chipotle logo on beige background

This is one of the best options if you’re looking for vegan fast food. At Chipotle, they emphasize non-GMO, organic, quality ingredients – you won’t have to compromise many of your health beliefs when ordering from here. What’s more, the only non-vegan items on their menu are meat, cheese, and sour cream!

You can choose all of the different tortillas, guacamole, burritos, bowls, tacos, salads, chips, beans, salads, quesadillas, and fajita veggies. They’ve also added tofu sofritas to their menu, which makes all of the burritos, bowls, tacos, and salads vegan. Note: their honey vinaigrette is obviously not vegan!


Denny's logo on beige background

For the most part, diner food is pretty unfriendly towards vegans… but Denny’s actually has some solid vegan options. The vegan menu items here include English muffins, plain toasted bagels, grits, oatmeal, applesauce, fresh fruit, vegetable plates, seasoned French fries, veggie sandwiches, bakes potatoes, and garden salads with either light Italian or oil/vinegar dressings.

They also serve Amy’s burgers as the veggie patty for “Build your own Burger”. The sesame and whole wheat buns are vegan. Make sure to always tell your waiter that you cannot have dairy!


Domino's logo on beige background

Not all pizza places are safe bets, because the crusts can contain animal products. But at Domino’s, you can order the Thin Crust along with their original or regular Pizza Sauce and are good to go! Then you can take your pick of an array of veggies and even top it off with some sauces like BBQ, garlic, hot buffalo, or Italian dipping cups.​

Together with a Garden Salad (hold the cheese!) and some Balsamic or Italian dressing, you’ve got a nice and filling combination.

Falafel Stands

Falafel icon on beige background

These can be real saviors too! Most falafels are vegan by default. Put them into a pita bread along with some hummus and veggies or get it in lavash bread. Some places (especially Greek) put yogurt in their tahini dressing, whereas others (Middle Eastern) are completely vegan.

Jack in the Box

Jack In The Box logo on beige background

There are a few options you can choose from here. From seasoned curly fries, potato wedges, black beans to a breakfast blueberry muffin and oatmeal – these are all vegan.

You can also get some sesame breadsticks, pita bread, or a tortilla bowl.

Jason’s Deli

Jason's Deli logo on beige background

You have a fairly good choice of tasty vegan options here. There is an organic vegetable soup, a spinach veggie wrap (hold the cheese), salsa, hummus, guacamole, steamed veggies, Mediterranean wrap, and a fresh fruit cup (without dip).

Besides the many options from the salad bar, you can also get the organic blue corn tortilla chips, bagged chips, baked lays, pozole verde soup, and fire-roasted tortilla soup.

Jimmy John’s

Jimmy John's logo on beige background

Besides all their chips that are vegan (sorry, no salt and vinegar flavor), you can get a gourmet or regular veggie “unwich”. This is basically a filled lettuce wrap. Skip the cheese and mayo, add in some avocado spread and top with vinegar or Italian vinaigrette.

Little Caesar’s

Little Caesars logo on beige background

They make their crust vegan as well! You can choose from various veggies as a topping and have a simple and tasty meal.

Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom logo on beige background

You won’t believe it, but you will find a separate vegan menu here, including Daiya cheese as a substitute for any dairy cheese item! The vegan menu includes pretzels, hummus, several salads, pizzas (including build-your-own), calzones and several subs with tofu, tempeh, or mushrooms.


McDonald's logo on beige background

We never thought we would see this happen but you actually have some decent vegan choices at McDonald’s these days. Not only have they just launched their McVegan in 2019, in some countries you can even find other plant-based burgers on their menu.

Then, there is the Southwest Salad, Side Salad, Slushie (basically sugar water, yeah), Apple Pie, and Apple Slices You can also ask for their fruit and maple oatmeal without the cream.

In most places, their fries are also vegan – not in the US, though! But you could always ask and increase the demand for it. We like their coffees with soy milk, too.

Noodles and Company

Noodles and Company logo on beige background

You don’t have to get your pasta along with some cheese! If you want to grab your meal here, you can find several ways of getting some yummy plant-based options. There are the penne fresca, penne rosa, whole grain Tuscan linguine, and spaghetti that can be made by request without any cream, cheese, or meat.

Also, the Japanese pan noodles and Indonesian peanut satay are vegan-friendly by default. You can also add tofu to round up your meal. Look out for a “v” next to the dishes and make sure they don’t have any eggs or dairy. There are also soups and salads from which you can choose.

P.F. Chang’s

PF Chang's logo on beige background

Chinese food is usually vegan-friendly, and here you will even find a separate vegetarian menu. Almost any dish can be made vegan too. Make sure to ask for any eggs or milk beforehand and also which broth or stock they’ve been using. Also, your food could be cooked in the same oil as meat products.

Good food choices are the Buddha’s Feast, Coconut Curry Vegetables, Stir-Fried Eggplant, and Ma Po Tofu. They also have Vegetarian Lettuce Wraps, Orange Ginger Edamame, Veggie Spring Rolls, Veggie Dumplings, Tofu Dishes like Tofu ‘pork’ or ‘chicken’, Vegetable Soup, Tofu Vegetable Soup, Vegetable Fried Rice, Steamed Rice, General Tso’s Tofu, Moo Shu Vegetables, Sweet and Sour Tofu, Orange Tofu, Kung Pao Tofu, Veggie Chow Mein.


Pancheros logo on beige background

Here are a couple of vegan options: from the pinto or black beans to the rice, salsa, guacamole, and chips… all of these can be combined into a meal. Try ordering a veggie burrito bowl with any of these ingredients!

Unfortunately, their tortilla dough is made with powdered milk, so stay away from burritos, tacos, and quesadillas.


Panera Bread logo on beige background

This restaurant chain serves lots of meals with natural ingredients and full flavor. Plus you have a plethora of food choices! Let’s start with the PB&J or Mediterranean veggie café sandwich (hold the cheese) on sourdough, stone-milled rye, country loaf, or sesame semolina bread. 

There are also a soba noodle bowl with edamame, garden vegetable soup without pesto and a low fat vegetarian black bean soup (optional: get it in a bread bowl!). If you like to get more fresh food, choose a Greek salad without cheese, ancient grain, arugula, and chicken salad minus the chicken. Or just go for the strawberry poppyseed summer salad and Mediterranean chicken and quinoa salad without chicken.

For your dressing, choose among Greek, poppyseed, low-fat Thai chili, reduced sugar Asian sesame, or white balsamic Fuji apple. You can also enjoy a side of fruit, potato chips, or a French baguette. Your bagels of choice could be either plain, blueberry, sweet onion poppyseed, or sesame – toasted with peanut butter. You can also get any smoothie made without yogurt and whip.

Papa John’s

Papa John's logo on beige background

Their original hand-tossed crust is vegan and so is their sauce. You can just order their pizza without any cheese and top it off with any vegetables you like! As a bonus: get some garlic dipping sauce. Naughty but vegan too.

Pizza Hut

Pizza Hut logo on beige background

Both the skinny slice and the thin crust are dairy-free here. Like Domino’s, you can choose vegan-friendly toppings too. Both the regular and sweet pizza sauce are fine along with your veggies like banana peppers, mushrooms, onions, and black olives.

Just make sure they don’t top it with cheese! Unfortunately, the gluten-free crust does contain some honey and is therefore not vegan. You can still enjoy a simple and tasty vegan meal here!


Potbelly logo on beige background

Have you tried their hearty Mediterranean sub (hold the chicken and cheese) or a PB&J from their underground menu yet? Make sure to choose white bread though, since multigrain does contain some honey. You can also go for a chickpea veggie salad or Mediterranean salad – both without the chicken and cheese of course.

As for your dressing choices, you got non-fat, potbelly, or balsamic vinaigrette. Just make sure to skip the croutons! Another option is to try their garden vegetable soup.


Qdoba logo on beige background

Here you can be provided with vegan black or pinto beans, brown or cilantro lime rice, flour or corn taco shells or soft tortillas, fajita veggies, guacamole, salsa, and corn tortilla chips. This can be made into either a burrito, bowl, quesadilla, taco, or tortilla coup.

Red Robin

Red Robin logo on beige background

You can find both a Gardenburger and a Boca patty on their menu – but be sure to mention they should use these two combined. The patty that comes with the Gardenburger has eggs and dairy in it. It’s usually topped with pickles, tomatoes, lettuce, and Dijon sauce and serves on a whole-grain bun.

Other vegan options are the hummus plate, wedge salad, and steamed veggie sides.

Ruby Tuesday

Ruby Tuesdays logo on beige background

Make your own hefty vegan salad here at the Create Your Own Garden Bar with choices ranging from spring mix, fresh greens, tomatoes, olives, edamame and green peas to sunflower seeds. Top with balsamic vinaigrette or olive oil and vinegar.

Another option would be to choose three side dishes – these include grilled asparagus, baked potato, grilled zucchini, steamed broccoli, fresh green beans, and roasted spaghetti squash. Make sure to request the veggies not be cooked with butter first.


Subway logo on beige background

Okay, this one is kind of easy. Since you can pick and choose everything that goes on your sub and also watch it being prepared for you, And because Subway has even more U.S. locations than McDonald’s, so you’re never far from a vegan sandwich.

Simply order a Veggie Delight without the cheese or mayo. Have it on Italian, Hearty Italian, Roasted garlic bread or Sourdough bread. Sometimes they also have some guacamole. Choose plenty of veggies and top it with vinegar, mustard, deli mustard, sweet onion sauce or fat-free Italian dressing.

If you’re not up for a sandwich, there is also The Veggie Delight Salad, apple slices or some types of chips (Lay’s classic chips, Oven Baked Original Lay’s, original Sun Chips). As of 2019, most countries offer Subs with a vegan patty.


Starbucks logo on beige background

Although they have very different options than most other fast food places, Starbucks still makes the list. Now in more than 50 countries, you’ll never be far away from a soy latte or frappuccino (watch out for the caramel drizzle which isn’t vegan!).

Food choices include oatmeal topped with brown sugar and a nut/fruit medley or a plain bagel. There is sometimes also blueberry oatmeal with agave and a hearty veggie & brown rice salad bowl – although the lemon tahini dressing that comes with it is not vegan.

Taco Bell

Taco Bell logo on beige background

This is actually a fairly good choice for eating vegan fast food. When you order a burrito “Fresco Style”, this means they’ll use pico de gallo tomatoes instead of cheese – leaving off all dairy ingredients. You can also substitute beans instead of meat and add some extra potatoes. 

For an extra charge, you can add rice, guacamole, tomato, or lettuce — all of which are vegan. There are also Taco salads or crunchwraps which are satisfying choices. Just swap the meat for beans, hold the cream and cheese, and add rice, potatoes, guacamole, and one of the many vegan dressings: red, green chile, fire, green tomatillo, hot, or mild sauce and regular, citrus, or fiesta salsas.

What’s more, Taco Bell has made history by being the first-ever fast food joint to offer menu items certifies by the American Vegetarian Association.

Taco Del Mar

Taco Del Mar logo on beige background

Although there aren’t many options overall on the menu, you can make some tweaks and get a few vegan meals out of them. Both the Mondo and Mondito Burrito can be made vegan, their tortillas are without any animal products, and so are the rice, black beans, refried beans, and whole pinto beans.

For your sauce, you can choose between salsa, habanero, green sauce, red sauce, and guacamole. Put them into a salad which comes with a taco shell and you have a fairly healthy meal!

The Cheesecake Factory

The Cheesecake Factory logo on beige background

Even though the name wouldn’t suggest finding many vegan options, you will probably be able to get some very decent meals here. Most of the time, it already works if you ask them to keep the chicken and cheese out of the dishes.

However, there are also options like a Vegan Cobb Salad which contains lettuce, grilled asparagus, green beans, roasted beets, avocado, tomato, cucumber, chickpeas, quinoa, almond, and sunflower seeds with a house vinaigrette.

Then, their “Skinnylicous Veggie Burger” is made with brown rice, black beans, mushrooms, couscous, and other yummy vegan stuff. There’s also the Penne Pasta with eggplant, broccoli, artichoke, olives, and pine nuts.


TCBY logo on beige background

When they partnered with Silk, there suddenly was the first-ever national dairy-free almond milk-based frozen yogurt option with a chocolate flavor. Due to this success, they also created a vanilla almond flavor.

On top of that, they now offer silk almond nog and coconut. Available toppings are almonds, bananas, blackberries, blueberries, cherries, coconut, dried fruits, mangoes, peaches, raspberries, and of course, Oreo pieces.


Wendy's logo on beige background

You won’t find many vegan options here, but those that are vegan, are a lot healthier than in other fast food places. They serve plain baked potatoes and sweet potatoes, apples, side salads with light Asian vinaigrette or Italian vinaigrette. The fries could be considered vegan too but might be shared with other foods in a frier.

Sources used for this article

Peta // Spoon University // One Green Planet // Vegan Eating Out

More vegan guides

If you liked our article about vegan fast food options, read these guides next!

Have you ever tried eating vegan out at a fast food restaurant? What did you choose to eat and have we forgotten about some insider tips? Let us know in the comments below.

Browse these categories

Alena sitting in a cafe with a bowl of fresh plant-based food and a glass of coffee in front of her

About Alena Handwritten FontAlena Schowalter is a Certified Vegan Nutritionist who has been a vegetarian since childhood and vegan since 2012. Together with her husband, she founded nutriciously in 2015 and has been guiding thousands of people through different transition stages towards a healthy plant-based diet. She’s received training in the fields of nutrition, music therapy and social work. Alena enjoys discussions around vegan ethics, walks through nature and creating new recipes.

37 thoughts on “The Best Vegan Fast Food Restaurant Options”

    • Thanks, Nas! How lovely of you to let us know. We were actually looking for information on that ourselves and decided to write up this guide because it was just so useful and handy :)

  1. This was awesome! I am only 2 months into my Vegan life and really was wondering how to navigate these types of restaurants in social situations. Thanks so much!

    • Hey Jo,
      I’m very glad I could help out :) We’ve been wondering the same thing actually in the past and therefore came up with this resource. Eating a healthy diet at come can be hard enough, and most people struggle so much once they eat out. Sometimes, this even becomes the reason why they don’t even try to make healthier choices – just because they wouldn’t know what to do at restaurants. Now this excuse is off the table!
      Have a great week,

  2. At Taco Bell they have the option to substitute guac for sour cream for no extra charge. Just make sure they enter it as “sub sc->guac.” A lot of the workers aren’t aware that the button is even there, but if you push for it they will do it. You can also ask for “easy guac” which is free but isn’t as large a quantity.

    • Hey Beth,
      thanks for the insider information! That’s very helpful. I love how easy it is to get vegan options anywhere these days.

  3. Are you sure on the Dominos sauce? The crust is ok if you do the gluten free but Online ingredients it shows dairy in the sauce. We found out because my daughter is allergic and she did have a reaction after eating it.

  4. this is incredibly helpful and I will come back to this whenever I go out! THANK YOU so much for putting work into this for us.

    • You’re very welcome, Megan! Anything to help out fellow vegans :)
      Let us know if you need anything else, we reply to any email x

  5. Ugh! Been eating Pancheros burritos just ignorantly assuming/hoping their tortillas were vegan. Girlfriend is not going to take this well, don’t know how I’m going to break it to her haha. Also they do have tofu which I didn’t see mentioned and it’s usually pretty good. Thank you for all the info!

    • Thanks for the comment! Recipes can change pretty often in the different restaurants across the country, so asking there won’t hurt :)

    • Yes, true (in most places!)… thanks for sharing. Although, peta2 said that it’s vegan, so not sure. I would just ask before ordering, they should have the list of ingredients there :)

  6. Thank you so much for this list! At least I won’t have to cook every night! Lol

    I’m new to the vegan lifestyle. My son was recently diagnosed with an allergy to mammal meat a week ago… crazy I know. I’ve been researching safe foods and learned white normal sugar has bone char in it which can cause an allergic reaction. Do you happen to know if these items take things like that into account?

    • Hey Savannah,
      glad you like the article! Sorry to hear about your son… I’m not sure whether any of these meals contain white sugar that has been processed with bone char. Most of the time, regular sugar is being considered vegan and you will have to ask the chef in the restaurant about it. Sorry this isn’t too helpful! I used websites like peta for my research on this topic, so they might have looked out for the sugar issue.
      Best wishes,

    • Hi Megan,
      I understand that you want to draw the line here. Unfortunately, we don’t live in a vegan world and most any supermarket you’ll go to will sell animal products, have non-vegan owners etc. For us, it seems very impractical to consider all of these factors – we would like to make following a vegan diet easier without having to think of all these layers.
      Great that you follow your ethics to this point :)
      All my best,

  7. I choose the vegan options in a restaurant. The vegeburger tastes like chicken but I know the patty is soft and crunchy. I eat for the environment. Even though we’re eating vegetables which is so yummy. I’m a pesco-vegan and I eat fish, there’s nothing like a caviar and a bottle of vegan champagne.

  8. Hey, please beware of the skinnylicious veggie burger from the Cheesecake Factory, the beans are made with chicken stock !!

  9. I can confirm for my previous Burger King, that fries and hash browns have their own fryer. The Veggie Whopper has a button, but make sure they’re not giving you a veggie burger if you’re vegan. It can be confusing even to people who’ve been working there for months. You will have to ask for no mayonnaise if you do this. Otherwise, you’ll receive everything on a normal Whopper besides the patty.

    • thanks for pointing this out – love the insider’s perspective on that :) Need to be super clear everywhere, I guess.

  10. if your with a non-vegan, Subway will also take thier foot longs and half them in half, give you both a 6 inch sandwich, and put the meat all on the non-vegans side and not charge extra. Tada, one side vegan, the other well dare we say.

  11. Subway is NOT vegan. Unles u get a salad with no chicken of course. But if you try to het any bread there it is made with milk so you are limites as to what to get! Just putting that out there

  12. Wow, this was very enlightening. As a new transitioning vegan, it was good to watch you look at fast food in a way I never have. I usually opt for Wendy’s when on the road because I can always get a baked potato [although in the past I always had it with cheese!]. I never even thought about pizza without cheese, so just that suggestion was and eye-opener. And I never would have thought Taco Bell or Denny’s were options. New way to look at the world of food. Thanks.


Leave a Comment